Skip to content
stromFitStart analysis

What a compliant plug-in solar kit costs

Between them, the manufacturers below hold 24 entries on the GB plug-in solar register, and they are the ones whose kits we could find priced on a page worth citing. Registered and purchasable turn out to be very different lists. Here is every price we could read, each with the date it was read — and a straight answer about the figure we cannot give you.

12 of 14 kits have a price on a manufacturer or official seller page. Across those listings the amounts seen ran from £449 to £1,199, which is a spread wide enough to be worth taking apart rather than averaging. The rest of this page does that. It contains no saving, no payback and no annual yield, because stromFit cannot yet calculate those for a British household and will not print a number it cannot stand behind.

The prices, as listed

Ordered by price because a table needs an order. This is not a ranking, and none of these is a recommendation: stromFit only ranks products it can simulate, and it cannot simulate any of these yet. “Panel capacity” is the DC figure the seller prints, which is also the number in each kit's name.

Plug-in solar kits with a price, each read on the date shown
KitPanel capacityPricePer panel wattAvailabilityRead onListing
PatioSun PatioSun Lite
PatioSun Lite
445 W£449
VAT not stated
£1.01Made to order14 September 2026View at PatioSun
City Plumbing DMEGC 1030W Hoymiles HiFlow Plug In Solar Kit
DME-1030W-BW-1
1030 W£468
inc. VAT
£0.45In stock11 September 2026View at City Plumbing
PatioSun PatioSun Lite+
PatioSun Lite+
465 W£470
VAT not stated
£1.01Made to order14 September 2026View at PatioSun
Thunder Energy Bolt 460W Plug-In Solar Kit
Thunder Bolt 460W
460 W£549.99
VAT not stated
£1.20In stock10 September 2026View at Thunder Energy
UKSOL Pro Compact 515W Single Panel Hybrid Mount Kit
UKS-PRO-C-1-515-MZ1/-HYM
515 W£583.39
inc. VAT
£1.13Pre-order31 August 2026View at iHelios
PowerXpress Plug-in Solar 920W 2 Panels + Mounting Kit
90012
920 W£669
inc. VAT
£0.73In stock11 September 2026View at Screwfix
UKSOL Pro Compact 460W Single Panel Ground Mount Kit
UKS-PRO-C-1-460-MZ1-UKG
460 W£699
£849 delivered
VAT not stated
£1.52In stock31 August 2026View at UKSOL
PatioSun PatioSun Duo
PatioSun Duo
890 W£699
VAT not stated
£0.79Made to order14 September 2026View at PatioSun
PatioSun PatioSun Max
PatioSun Max
890 W£749
VAT not stated
£0.84Pre-order14 September 2026View at PatioSun
Thunder Energy Bolt 920W Plug-In Solar Kit
Thunder Bolt 920W
920 W£749.99
VAT not stated
£0.82In stock10 September 2026View at Thunder Energy
PatioSun PatioSun Max+
PatioSun Max+
930 W£779
VAT not stated
£0.84Made to order14 September 2026View at PatioSun
UKSOL Pro Duo 890W Two Panel Ground Mount Kit
UKS-PRO-D-2-890-MZ1-UKG
890 W£1,089
£1,199 delivered
VAT not stated
£1.22In stock31 August 2026View at UKSOL

The listing link goes straight to the seller's own page — the one the price above was read on. stromFit is paid nothing if you buy: there is no affiliate arrangement behind any link here, and the order of the table is price, not profit. The methodology page sets out why the ranking code carries no commission field at all.

Per-watt figures are the listed price divided by panel capacity, computed rather than quoted. Treat the column as rough: 9 of the 12 listings do not say whether VAT is included, so the rows are not strictly comparable with each other.

Why one kit appears at two prices

The manufacturer's store lists its ground-mount kits twice — once to collect and once delivered — and the gap is not small. The cheaper figure is the one recorded above, with the delivered price shown beneath it, because a collection price with delivery bolted on later is the more honest starting point for a comparison. If you cannot collect, the delivered figure is the one that applies to you.

The number in the name is not the output

This is the part worth reading twice before spending anything. Every kit here carries a different amount of panel — but the register records all 14 of them at the same AC capacity, 0.8 kW. The legislation caps what a plug-in device may push into the socket; extra panel capacity does not raise that ceiling.

So a bigger kit is not a proportionally bigger kit. What more panel buys is more hours per year spent at the ceiling rather than below it — early morning, late afternoon, overcast days — and how much that is worth depends entirely on when the household actually uses electricity. That is a calculation, and the next section explains why we are not doing it for you yet.

What we cannot tell you: the saving

The most common question behind these searches is what one of these saves per year. We will not answer it, and the reason is specific rather than a disclaimer. Three things are missing, both of them ours rather than yours:

  • No verified British catalogue. 14 kits with sourced figures is research, not a catalogue, and 2 of them have no price at all.
  • Inputs are no longer the blocker, and saying so is the point. On 11 September 2026 the last missing input landed: British postcodes now resolve to coordinates from Ordnance Survey's Code-Point Open, alongside the measured British consumption shape and a sourced Ofgem tariff. All three have since been run together against live irradiance, end to end. We are not withholding a number because we cannot compute one. We are withholding it because the list above is four brands, and a comparison drawn from four brands is a comparison of what we happened to find.
  • Money handling that is euro-only. A sourced British tariff now exists in our market record — the Ofgem cap unit rate, with the document and date it came from — but our electricity price handling is in euros throughout and nothing in the engine converts currency. A pence-per-kWh figure fed into it comes out looking like a euro result, and no check we have would catch it. What is missing here is the plumbing, not the number.

Any page that gives you a single annual saving for a plug-in kit without asking when you are at home has assumed the answer. The share you actually use yourself, rather than export, is what decides it — and for a device this size that share is usually the whole story. It is the whole story for a second reason too, which most pages skip: nothing entitles a self-installed system to be paid for what it exports, and no supplier is obliged to pay for it. The rules page quotes the condition and says where it comes from. Our German calculators show how much that one variable moves the result; the arithmetic transfers even though the numbers do not.

Kits we could not price

2 of the registered kits appear on the partner's range page with a panel capacity and no price:

  • Pro Max 1260W Two Panel Hybrid Mount Kit — 1260 W panel capacity, registered at 0.8 kW (UKSOL/21013/V1/A2). No price on any page we cite.
  • Pro Plus 1030W Two Panel Hybrid Mount Kit — 1030 W panel capacity, registered at 0.8 kW (UKSOL/21012/V1/A3). No price on any page we cite.

A further 10 entries from these manufacturers are on the register with nothing here at all: UKSOL/21014/V1/A4, UKSOL/21007/V1/A3, CITYP/21286/V1/A1, CITYP/21281/V1/A1, CITYP/21283/V1/A1, CITYP/21282/V1/A1, CITYP/21288/V1/A1, CITYP/21275/V1/A1, CITYP/21096/V1/A4, PATIO/21289/V1. For UKSOL, the partner range page lists 515, 890, 1030 and 1260 W and not 920 W, and the hybrid-mount Duo is not separated from the ground-mount Duo on any page we read. For City Plumbing the obstacle is not price but identity: those kits are on sale and carry printed prices, but the pages print no panel model and no register reference, so for all but one of them we cannot say which register entry the kit in the box actually is. A price we cannot attach to a specific registered device is a price for an unknown product, so it is not shown. Panel capacity was not taken from a model code, and no entry was matched on wattage alone. PatioSun's other three entries are held for two different reasons. Duo+ (PATIO/21289/V1) has no listing on the shop at all. Lite+ and Max+ agree with their listings on panel count, mount and inverter, but the register says 460 W a panel and the shop says 465 W — a five-watt disagreement between a manufacturer's own registration and its own shop, small enough to be a typo and large enough that picking a side would be us deciding rather than reading. We would rather show you the hole than fill it with a number derived from a product code.

That gap is not unique to them. Of everything currently listed as compliant on the register, most has no discoverable retail presence in the UK at all — registered and purchasable turn out to be very different lists. The full register mirror shows which is which.

Check the registration before you buy

When we read the register on 12 September 2026, 24 of these manufacturers' 24 entries were recorded as compliant, and 0 of them carried a Northern Ireland type test — which matters if you are in Belfast rather than Birmingham, because that is a separate assessment and a GB listing does not cover it. Statuses change, so the register itself is the thing to check on the day, not this page and not a seller's description. The rules and where they come from are set out separately.

Sources

Prices are what a named page showed on the date given against each row — the oldest of them is 14 September 2026 — not quotes, and nothing here is an offer or a recommendation. stromFit sells nothing and takes no commission on these products. Not financial advice.